Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence-Based Practice: EBP Tools Table

This guide is designed to assist health care professionals to become effective and efficient users of the medical and nursing literature.

Evidence-Based Practice Tools Table

The EBP Tools Table below lists some of the prominent EBP Resources available today, the document type, wheer that fits on the EBP Evidence Pyramid, and whether Affinity / Ministry access to it or not.   

EBP Sources Document Type EBP Pyramid Level Full Text

Ascension Wisconsin Availability

ACP Journal Club  (via Badgerlink)

Structured abstracts Clinical Research Critiques
X
 

 

   
 
 
AHRQ Evidence Reports Guidelines,Evidence Summaries Evidence Guidelines
X
X
     
 
 
BestBETS Systematic reviews Other SRs and meta-analyses
X
X
     
 
 
Canadian Family Physician: Critical Appraisal Collection Evidence Summaries Evidence Summaries
X
X
CINAHL Document Types Research articles RCTs, case cohorts, control studies
 
X
CMA Infobase Guidelines Articles and Guidelines
X
X
Clinical Evidence Evidence Summaries Evidence Summaries
X
 
Clinical Inquiries FPIN Evidence Summaries Evidence Summaries
X
X
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials Abstracts of RCTs RCTs, case cohorts, control studies
 
X

Cochrane Clinical Answers

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 

Evidence Summaries

Systematic reviews

Cochrane Systematic Reviews
X
 
X
X
 
X
DARE Abstracts of systematic reviews Cochrane Systematic Reviews
 
X
EBM Online (BMJ Journals) Structured abstracts Clinical Research Critiques
X
ECRI Guidelines Trust Practice Guidelines and Guideline Briefs Evidence Guidelines
X
X
Essential Evidence Plus Evidence Summaries, reference text Clinical Research Critiques
X
 
     
 
 
FIRSTConsult (via Clinical Key) Evidence Summaries , reference text Other reviews of the literature
X
 X
Clinical Key Guidelines Guidelines Articles and Guidelines
X
X
         
Natural Medicines Evidence Summaries, reference monograph Other reviews of the literature
X
Legacy Ministry / Affinity only
Nursing Reference Center Plus Evidence-based Care Sheets

Evidence Summaries /

Critical Appraisals 

X
X
 POEMs via Essential Evidence Plus Structured abstracts Clinical Research Critiques X  
PubMed Clinical Queries Research articles RCTs, case cohorts, control studies
 
X
PubMed Publication Types RCTs, review articles RCTs, case cohorts, control studies
 
X
PubMed Systematic Reviews Systematic reviews Other SRs and meta-analyses
 
X
PubMed Health Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries Evidence Summaries
X
X
Scientific American Medicine  (Formerly ACP Medicine) Reference Text Clinical Reference Texts
X
 
TRIP All resource types Search engine
 
X
UpToDate Evidence Summaries Other reviews of the literature
X
Individual Subscriptions
Only for Ministry.
CSM / WFHC 
USPSTF Recommendations Guidelines Evidence Guidelines
X
X


(revised October 2016)

Ascension Wisconsin Associate Intranet CSM Library Intranet MHC Library Intranet WFHC Library Intranet What's New with Ascension Wisconsin Library Services Blog