Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Handouts and Screenshots for Access Medicine
AccessMedicine Video Training
Contact Your Librarian : MM
Need Assistance? We are happy to help! Please contact Your Librarian :
Michele Matucheski, MLIS, AHIP
Note: Working from home during the Pandemic. Email is the best option to reach me now.
About Access Medicine
AccessMedicine provides full-text access to important resources in Clinical Medicine. The collection is divided into multiple sections:
- Extensive Multimedia Library - Simplify complicated concepts of brush up on common procedures with 250+ examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, and animations.
- Differential Diagnosis Tool - Speed diagnosis with Diagnosaurus(R)--a downloadable tool that allows users to browse more than 1,000 differential diagnoses by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point-of-care.
- Practice Guidelines - Keep pace with the latest disease screening, prevention, and management regimens with current guidelines from Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care.
- Diagnostic Tests - Select the right test for specific symptoms and accurately interpret easily with Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests.
- Quick Medical Dx & Rx - Gain a complete understanding of common medical conditions through a unique collection of concise evidence-based outlines - perfect for quick reference in the clinical setting.
- Integrated Drug Database - Look up dosing, indications, and adverse reactions through an updated drug database including thousands of generic and brand-name drugs - with printable patient handouts presented in English and Spanish.
- Patient Education - Assist patients to better understand their disorder and treatment program through comprehensive, reliable healthcare information that covers 5,000 topics available in multiple languages.
- Cases - Better understand and evaluate real world experiences through our extensive collection of cases, including selections from the popular LANGE Case Files(R) series, Pathophysiology of Disease, and Hurst's Imaging Tests, which offer questions to frame the case and the approach to the patient.
Also see our AccessMedicine Search Tips Page filled with useful tips and tutorials for getting the most out of it.
Patient Education in other languages via Access Medicine
Once in Access Medicine, click on the Patient Education Tab.
The default language is English. Click on the down-arrow to see the other options, including Chinese,French, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese.
Not every patient education handout will be available in all languages listed.
About the AccessMedicine Mobile App
About the AccessMedicine App
The AccessMedicine app delivers indispensable support and invaluable point of care solutions for clinical practice through these mobile features:
- Quick Medical Dx & Rx is a collection of concise evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice.
- Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology facilitates dermatologic diagnosis by providing color images of skin lesions.
- Differential Diagnosis Tool browse 1,000 diagnoses by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
- Diagnostic Tests, a quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests, including laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.
The AccessMedicine app is available to users at Ascension Wisconsin.
Step 1 : To activate and for continued access to the app, you must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN. Sign up for a My Access account today by logging into your subscription and clicking on your institution name in the upper right hand corner.
AccessMedicine (Full Desktop Version)
Step 2 : To download the app, please visit the App Store or Google Play.
Set up an AccessMedicine User Profile (Personal Account)
Sign up for and complete a MyAccess profile by logging into AccessMedicine on a work computer. Then click on "Ministry Health Care" or "Columbia-St.Marys" or "Wheaton-Franciscan" in the upper right-hand corner.
1 – Click Create a Free MyAccess Profile.
2 – Click “Don’t have a MyAccess profile,” and fill in the form. It’s that easy!
- Gain remote access to AccessMedicine using just your MyAccess profile credentials. No extra logins or VPNs required.
- Access Self-Assessment to create and save practice tests
- Save chapters, cases, videos, images and tables to your Favorites
- View recently viewed content
- Download images directly to PowerPoint
- Access Custom Curriculum if it’s being used by your program
- Log in to gain and track CME credits