Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing by Jan Odom-ForrenTrusted for 30 years, Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing, A Critical Care Approach, 7th Edition is the only book on the market that provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections - covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations - means you get five books in one. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, and updated content includes the latest standards and current issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice. Focusing on research, documentation, and psychosocial considerations, this is the one book that can take you all the way from being a novice nurse in the PACU to preparing for your CPAN#65533; or CAPA#65533; certification! Updated Evidence-based Research boxes in sections IV and V provide the latest standards of care. Five separate sections provide comprehensive coverage, including: the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations. Addresses current policies and issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice such as patient safety, infection control, managed care implications, pain management, and bioterrorism. Special Considerations section details the care of patients with conditions such as malignant hyperthermia, substance abuse, sickle cell anemia, and cardiac arrest. Comprehensively covers the various types of anesthetic agents to be anticipated in the PACU. In-depth coverage of pathophysiology for all body systems integrated with nursing and pharmacologic interventions. Streamlined format includes an overview, definitions, summary, and references for each chapter. NEW and EXPANDED! Updated content covers the latest evidence and standards, including new sedation and pain guidelines, new information on older patients, implications of new surgical techniques, and more bariatric implications. NEW and UPDATED! New illustrations and thoroughly updated references throughout.
Postoperative Nausea and Vomiting by Tong-Joo Gan (Editor); Ashraf S. Habib (Editor); Henrik Kehlet (Foreword by)Postoperative nausea and vomiting is an increasingly common and distressing problem faced by patients undergoing anesthesia that negatively affects their recovery and wellbeing and can result in significant increases in healthcare costs. Effective treatment strategies and relevant, up-to-date guidance are essential to manage postoperative nausea and vomiting in the perioperative setting. This practical, concise guide to the subject offers information on the history and mechanisms of postoperative nausea and vomiting, assessing and identifying risk factors, providing appropriate pharmacological and non-pharmacological treatment options, and implementing successful management strategies to tackle this issue. As a uniquely comprehensive study of the topic that provides much more detail than a chapter in a general anaesthesia textbook, this is an invaluable resource for anesthetists and physicians managing patients post-surgery.
Publication Date: 2016
eJournals in PeriAnesthesia Nursing
All of the ejournals listed below are available for our eTOC service. So let us know if you want to sign up for email notifications for each new issue.