Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Professional Organizations - Neonatal Nursing
Useful Articles / References
Search the AW Libraries Catalog
eBooks for NICU Nursing - Titles available ONLINE
Click on the title links below to go the online version of these eBooks :
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Pocket Guide to Neonatal Nutrition, Second Edition 2nd Edition by
Updated to reflect current research and best practices, the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Pocket Guide to Neonatal Nutrition, Second Edition is an indispensable tool for registered dietitian nutritionists and other health care professionals working with premature infants. The easy-to-use format presents practical information on topics including nutrition assessment, parenteral nutrition, enteral nutrition, medical/surgical conditions, discharge and follow-up, and conversion tables. Includes key updates to medical surgical conditions and growth charts, addresses parenteral nutrition shortages and new enteral products, and discusses safety issues with the use of thickeners.
Call Number: via R2
Publication Date: 2015
MacDonald's Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology by
Detailed, step-by-step instructions and abundant full-color illustrations make MacDonald's Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology, Sixth Edition, an indispensable resource in the neonatal intensive care nursery. This unique reference uses a practical outline format to present clear, easy-to-follow information on indications, preparation, technique, precautions, and how to avoid potential complications. New chapters, new procedural content, and new videos bring you fully up to date with current practice in the NICU. Uses a step-by-step format that presents more than 200 photographs and illustrations along with user-friendly procedural descriptions, helping you minimize errors and promote safe practice standards. Contains six new chapters: Making Low-Cost Simulation Models for Neonatal Procedures, Delayed Cord Clamping and Cord Milking, Surfactant Administration via Thin Catheter, Amplitude-integrated EEG, VP shunts and EVD Management and Wound Care. Includes a new quick-reference appendix with a convenient checklist of procedures. Provides access to updated videos that depict both common and emergency neonatal procedures. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: via StatRef
Publication Date: 2020
Certification and Core Review for Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing by
Get ready for your neonatal intensive care nursing certification exam with the only review developed in collaboration with three leading nursing organizations! From AACN, AWHONN, and NANN, Certification and Core Review for Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing, 5th Edition prepares you for your examination with hundreds of high-quality study questions and realistic test simulation. Based on the latest test plans of the AACN's CCRN#65533;-Neonatal exam and the NCC's Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing (RNC-NIC) exam, review questions cover the changes to the Core Curriculum and reflect the latest evidence, essential knowledge, and best practices. New to this edition are three new chapters and 225 completely new review questions. This powerful study tool offers unparalleled preparation for your certification exam! Endorsed by the three most authoritative associations in neonatal intensive care nursing: the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN); the Association of Women's Health, Obstetric, and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN); and the National Association of Neonatal Nurses (NANN). Realistic exam practice is offered through 675 total questions that mirror the certification exam content, the multiple-choice question format, and the distribution of content. Answers are provided for each question, accompanied by rationales and references, to enhance your understanding of the material. Online flexibility allows you to organize review questions and test format by your preferred examination, either the AACN or NCC. Online exam simulation - included free with each new copy of the book - mirrors the test-taking experience with an interactive, timed format. Customized study lets you choose whether to work through online questions in Study Mode or Examination Mode. Online remediation includes rationales for both correct and incorrect answers, and in-book remediation provides rationales for correct answers. A compact, portable size makes the book easier to study anytime, anywhere. 225 NEW review questions include 75 in the book and 150 additional online questions on the Evolve companion website. Thoroughly UPDATED review content reflects AACN's latest CCRN#65533;-Neonatal exam and the NCC's latest Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing (RNC-NIC) exam, information in Core Curriculum for Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing, 5th Edition, and the newest evidence-based guidelines for neonatal critical care. NEW! Three new chapters include Grieving Process, Quality Improvement, and Facilitation of Learning. NEW focus on culturally sensitive care is included in an expanded Family Integration and Culturally Sensitive Care chapter. UPDATED rationales in the Answer Key are referenced to the most recent literature and evidence-based guidelines. Compatibility with IPads, iPhones, and other mobile devices allows online exam practice that is easy and convenient.
Publication Date: 2017
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk 2023 by
The worldwide gold standard for lactation support professionals. Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant? The new twentieth edition adds 72 new drugs, updates 356 medications with new data, and adds new information to 927 drugs. The resource relies upon the most current evidence-based studies to evaluate the relative risk of commonly used drugs including Dr. Hales highly renowned Lactation Risk Categories (LRC). Considered indispensable by hundreds of clinicians worldwide, the book lists safe alternatives for drugs one is currently taking or might need to take in the future. For ease of access to information, it includes key points and savvy tips in information boxes, common abbreviations, illustrative diagrams, concise information on evaluating the infant, and more. New to the 2023 Edition: 72 new drugs 356 medications updated with new data 3 drugs with FDA updates 927 medications updated with new information 74 existing drugs with updated LRC New tables on monoclonal antibodies and migraines New information on cannabis Key Features: Delivers current, evidence-based information on over 1300 drugs, diseases, vaccines, syndromes. Incorporates recent updates to Dr. Hales world-renowned LRC. Includes key points and savvy tips about breastfeeding and medications for quick reference. Lists common abbreviations and drugs in easily-accessible alphabetical order. Discusses adult concerns, adult dose, pediatric concerns, infant monitoring, and alternatives. Includes succinct information on evaluation of the infant.
Call Number: ONLINE via R2
Publication Date: 2022
Merenstein and Gardner's Handbook of Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing by
NOTE: If you get a turnaway notice, it's probably because you are still signed in via another browser window. Be sure to log out officially. Closing the window keeps you logged in until it times out in 10 minutes, or try again later. Or try the Stat Ref route above.
Call Number: ONLINE via R2 Library
Publication Date: 2020
See Also ...
Other Relevant LibGuides:
Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+)
CINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health)