Ascension | St. Elizabeth’s Hospital | Ascension Medical Group
1531 S. Madison St.
Appleton, WI 54915
ascension.org/wisconsin
Office: 920-730-4413
Fax: 920-730-4404
lisa.urbaniak@ascension.org
Breastfeeding by
Written and edited by leading physicians, Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession, 9th Edition, offers comprehensive, dependable information and guidance in this multifaceted field. Award-winning author and co-founder of the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, Dr. Ruth Lawrence, and her son, Dr. Rob Lawrence, ensure that you're brought fully up to date on everything from basic data on the anatomical, physiological, biochemical, nutritional, immunological, and psychological aspects of human lactation, to the problems of clinical management of breastfeeding-all in a highly readable, easily accessible desk reference. Helps you make appropriate drug recommendations, treat conditions associated with breastfeeding, and provide thoughtful guidance to the breastfeeding mother according to her circumstances, problems, and lifestyle. Includes numerous charts and tables throughout, with an emphasis on the scientific, chemical, and physiological underpinnings of breastfeeding. Appendices contain additional charts and tables, including the complete collection of clinical protocols on breastfeeding and human milk from the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine. Features new chapters on breast conditions and their management in the breastfeeding mother, breastfeeding and chest-feeding for LGBTQ+ families, breastfeeding during disasters, and establishing a breastfeeding practice or academic department. Provides significant updates on physiology and biochemistry of lactation; medications and herbal preparations in breast milk; transmission of infectious disease through breast milk; allergy and its relationship with breastfeeding, exposure, and avoidance; premature infants and breastfeeding; and practical management of the mother-infant nursing couple. Offers authoritative and fresh perspectives from new associate editors: neonatologist Dr. Larry Noble, obstetrician Dr. Alison Stuebe, and pediatrician and lactation specialist Dr. Casey Rosen-Carole. Covers patient-centered counseling, the cellular composition of human breast milk, microbiota of the breast and human milk, and the multifunctional roles of human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs). Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Breastfeeding and Human Lactation by
AJN Award Winner Awarded third place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Maternal-Child Health/Prenatal Nursing/Childbirth category.Breastfeeding and Human Lactation, Sixth Edition is the ultimate reference for the latest clinical techniques and research findings that direct evidence-based clinical practice and research for lactation consultants and specialists. It contains everything a nurse, lactation consultant, midwife, women's health nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or Ob/Gyn needs to know about lactation care and science. Topics include placing breastfeeding in its historical context, workplace-related issues, anatomical and biological imperatives of lactation, the prenatal and perinatal periods and concerns during the postpartum period, the mother's health, sociocultural issues, and more vital information.With contributions from the foremost experts in the field, this leading resource contains a clear clinical focus with more than 2,000 research studies supporting the clinical recommendations found in the text. Furthermore, the updated Sixth Edition features new and additional case studies, expanded cultural content, inclusion of new regulations and guidelines, information on alternative medicine, and gender inclusive language.Breastfeeding and Human Lactation, Sixth Edition is also an excellent resource to prepare for certification and practice as an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant® (IBCLC®). The Navigate 2 TestPrep access code included with every new print copy unlocks access to practice and simulated tests, detailed rationales, and powerful data dashboards. Standalone access to Navigate 2 TestPrep is also available (ISBN: 978-1-284-18994-0).
The Breastfeeding Atlas by
Updated text, current evidence-based case management suggestions, new photos. A key text for lactation professionals and student preparing for the IBLCE exam.
Drugs During Pregnancy and Lactation by
Drugs During Pregnancy and Lactation, 3rd Edition is a quick and reliable reference for all those working in disciplines related to fertility, pregnancy, lactation, child health and human genetics who prescribe or deliver medicinal products, and to those who evaluate health and safety risks. Each chapter contains twofold information regarding drugs that are appropriate for prescription during pregnancy and an assessment of the risk of a drug when exposure during pregnancy has already occurred. Thoroughly updated with current regulations, references to the latest pharmacological data, and new medicinal products, this edition is a comprehensive resource covering latest knowledge and findings related to drugs during lactation and pregnancy.
Drugs for Pregnant and Lactating Women by 
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk 2023 by
The worldwide gold standard for lactation support professionals. Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant? The new twentieth edition adds 72 new drugs, updates 356 medications with new data, and adds new information to 927 drugs. The resource relies upon the most current evidence-based studies to evaluate the relative risk of commonly used drugs including Dr. Hales highly renowned Lactation Risk Categories (LRC). Considered indispensable by hundreds of clinicians worldwide, the book lists safe alternatives for drugs one is currently taking or might need to take in the future. For ease of access to information, it includes key points and savvy tips in information boxes, common abbreviations, illustrative diagrams, concise information on evaluating the infant, and more. New to the 2023 Edition: 72 new drugs 356 medications updated with new data 3 drugs with FDA updates 927 medications updated with new information 74 existing drugs with updated LRC New tables on monoclonal antibodies and migraines New information on cannabis Key Features: Delivers current, evidence-based information on over 1300 drugs, diseases, vaccines, syndromes. Incorporates recent updates to Dr. Hales world-renowned LRC. Includes key points and savvy tips about breastfeeding and medications for quick reference. Lists common abbreviations and drugs in easily-accessible alphabetical order. Discusses adult concerns, adult dose, pediatric concerns, infant monitoring, and alternatives. Includes succinct information on evaluation of the infant.
Human Milk in the NICU by
This unique text covers the use of banked, or stored, human milk in the hospital for premature and sick infants, and discusses the advantages of human milk feedings and the elements of hazard or risk introduced by the use of formulas, including rationales for the use of both mother's own milk and donor human milk in the NICU. This reference also highlights domestic health policies that impact the use of human milk for sick and fragile infants, international models and policies for milk banking, the history of donor milk banking and how it came into being and ethical issues surrounding the delivery of milk banking services and donor human milk in the NICU.
Supporting Sucking Skills in Breastfeeding Infants by
Supporting Sucking Skills in Breastfeeding Infants, Third Edition is an essential resource for healthcare professionals working with new mothers and infants. Using a multidisciplinary approach, it incorporates the latest research on infant sucking and clinical strategies to assist infants with breastfeeding. With an emphasis on skills, it focuses on normal sucking function in addition to difficulties based in anatomical, cardiorespiratory, neurological, or prematurity issues. Completely updated and revised, the Third Edition explores new clinical strategies for facilitating breastfeeding, more conditions, and the latest guidelines. Throughout the text, numerous photos make techniques and recommended strategies easier to understand and replicate.
Contact Your Librarian to sign up for eTOCs for any of these titles.
Other LibGuides that may be helpful:
More PubMed Tools :
