Try the following :
As of March 2018, the following Lippincott eBooks are considered to be excellent references for nursing policies and procedures.
Licensed for ALL of Ascension Wisconsin via R2 :
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by
This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Lippincott Visual Nursing by
For an image-rich guide to the clinical concepts and on-the-unit skills needed to treat the major common diseases, look no further than the fully updated Lippincott Visual Nursing , 3rd Edition . Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care. Follow these real-world visuals and top-notch directions for treating common diseases. . . NEW enhanced eBook included with purchase NEW flow charts showing clinical manifestations and leading to diagnosis, showing improvement or decline NEW format --tests, procedures, and treatments for each system now appearing before discussion of diseases NEW diagnoses added for diseases throughout the text Dozens of colorful illustrations, photos, waveforms, and diagrams that clearly demonstrate concepts and descriptions Step-by-step guidance on basic assessment skills, including: gathering subjective and objective data, questions to ask, documentation, and more Step-by-step assessment and treatment instructions that enhance your nursing skills and confidence Chapters addressing individual body systems: respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, renal and urologic, hematologic and immunologic, endocrine, integumentary, and male and female reproductive care Each body system chapter addresses: Major diseases affecting that system Normal anatomy--descriptions and images Pathophysiology of common health problems Lab tests and imaging studies Disease development Signs, symptoms, stages, and prevention Treatments--drug therapies, procedures, and surgery Nursing considerations--assessing patient decision-making ability, monitoring for complications, checking vital signs, post-operative care, and more Comparative charts that list diseases, their causes, persons at risk, symptoms, assessment findings, diagnoses, treatments, interventions Ideal study and review text for visual learners --colorful images that support other nursing texts, making it easy to learn and retain information Summarizes the major diseases and nursing considerations and interventions clearly and concisely Chapter features that include: Picturing Patho --flowcharts that show the effects of complex diseases Hands On --photographs that illustrate nursing procedures and treatments Lesson Plans --summaries of vital information for patient and family education Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Debra P. Kantor, PhD, RN, is an Associate Professor of Nursing at The Barbara H. Hagan School of Nursing, Molloy College, Rockville Centre, New York.
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by
5 Stars! "Overall this is an excellent, comprehensive, and practical resource that is evidence-based and easy to use. It is essential that this book be withing reach of not only student nurses, but also novice or more experienced clinical practice nurses in any setting across the healthcare continuum. A must have for any nurse's library!"-- Lisa R. Binns-Emerick, MSN, GNP-BC, FGNLA for DOODY'S Book Review Service, A classic nursing reference, the fully updated Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice, 11th Edition , offers expert nursing knowledge and much-needed practical guidance on patient care. Authoritative yet easy to follow, this comprehensive text guides you through the nursing concepts and skills particularly vital for medical-surgical assessment, care, and treatment. Essential for both in-the-classroom and on-the-unit guidance, this is the expertise that all students, new nurses, and medical-surgical nurses need to grasp essential nursing concepts, care management, and procedures. Discover the insights and data that every nurse needs: NEW and updated features - Nursing, Gerontologic, Drug, and Transitional Care Alerts, evidence-based references, diagnostic methods, and drug treatment throughout the book Easy-to-read, well-illustrated outline format - practical, pertinent, and comprehensive content for the busy nurse, including: Patient education - essential self-care, prevention, and health promotion information Nursing assessments - important signs and symptoms and other clinical data to be on the alert for in all types of conditions Body system terminology - how anatomy and physiology are affected by disease in each body system Equipment use - utilizing technology for patient monitoring and therapy Nursing process and practice - systematic use of the nursing process for assessment, planning, and intervention Emergency nursing - emergent conditions Psychiatric Nursing - mental health problems Medical-surgical nursing - adult physical assessment, IV therapy, perioperative nursing, cancer nursing, and care of the older or disabled adult Patient care by body system - functions, problems, disorders, and therapies described for the respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic and sensory, gastrointestinal, renal, genitourinary, reproductive, metabolic, endocrine, hematologic, immunologic, musculoskeletal, and integumentary systems Maternity and neonatal nursing - maternal and fetal health, nursing management during labor and delivery, care of mother and neonate in postpartum period, and complications of childbearing Pediatric nursing - pediatric growth and development, physical assessment, primary care, treatment of pediatric disorders of all body systems, and developmental disabilities eBook that includes step-by-step procedure guidelines - guidance on more than 150 procedures, with rationales and direction on what to do next and why Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks About the Author Sandra M. Nettina, MSN, ANP-BC, is a Nurse Practitioner and founder and president of Prime Care House Calls, West Friendship, Maryland.
Essentials for Nursing Practice by
Get a solid foundation in essential nursing principles, concepts, and skills! Essentials for Nursing Practice, 9th Edition combines everything you need from your fundamentals course and streamlines it into a format that''s perfect for busy nursing students. The ninth edition retains many classic features, including chapter case studies, procedural guidelines, and special considerations for various age groups, along with new content including a chapter on Complementary and Alternative Therapies, interactive clinical case studies on Evolve, a new Reflective Learning section, and QSEN activities to encourage active learning. Thoroughly reviewed by nursing clinical experts and educators, this new edition ensures you learn nursing Essentials with the most accurate, up-to-date, and easy-to-understand book on the market. Progressive case studies are introduced at the beginning of the chapter and are then used to tie together the care plan, concept map, and clinical decision-making exercises. Focused Patient Assessment tables include actual questions to help you learn how to effectively phrase questions to patients as well as target physical assessment techniques. Nursing skills at the end of each chapter feature full-bleed coloring on the edge of the page to make them easy to locate. Safety guidelines for nursing skills sections precede each skills section to help you focus on safe and effective skills performance. Detailed care plans in the text and on Evolve demonstrate the application of the 5-step nursing process to individual patient problems to help you understand how a plan is developed and how to evaluate care. Unexpected outcomes and related interventions for skills alert you to possible problems and appropriate nursing action. Patient Teaching boxes help you plan effective teaching by first identifying an outcome, then developing strategies on how to teach, and finally, implementing measures to evaluate learning. Care of the Older Adult boxes highlight key aspects of nursing assessment and care for this growing population. Key points neatly summarize the most important content for each chapter to help you review and evaluate learning. Evidence-Based Practice boxes include a PICO question, summary of the results of a research study, and a F description of how the study has affected nursing practice - in every chapter. Patient-Centered Care boxes address racial and ethnic diversity along with the cultural differences that impact socioeconomic status, values, geography, and religion. 65 Skills and procedural guidelines provide clear, step-by-step instructions for providing safe nursing care. 5-step nursing process provides a consistent framework for clinical chapters. Concept maps visually demonstrate planning care for patients with multiple diagnoses. NOC outcomes, NIC interventions, and NANDA diagnoses are incorporated in care plans to reflect the standard used by institutions nationwide. NEW! Chapter on Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Therapies addresses new content now included on the NCLEX® exam. NEW! Clinical case studies guide you through creation of care plans and foster clinical thinking. NEW! UNIQUE! Reflective Learning section helps you better understand and reflect on your clinical and simulation experiences as you move through your first nursing course NEW! QSEN activities woven throughout help you process what you''ve learned and develop an eye for safety NEW! Updated standards and evidence throughout includes the newest INS and WOCN standards and mean you''ll be delivering the best care possible
Mosby's Pocket Guide to Nursing Skills and Procedures by
Mosby's Pocket Guide to Nursing Skills & Procedures, 9th Edition, is a concise, pocket-sized study tool and clinical reference based on the best-selling textbook Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 9th Edition! This spiral-bound presents 85 key nursing skills in a convenient, A-to-Z format. Step-by-step instructions include full-color photos plus rationales explaining why and how to use specific techniques to help you troubleshoot potential problems and take appropriate actions to address them. With the latest in evidence-based practice this essential guide is a great tool to help you safely and effectively perform core nursing skills. Clear, two-column format shows you how to perform skills, with rationales for each step explaining the reason behind the practice and the benefit to patients. Alphabetical organization of skills makes it easy to find information quickly, with each skill beginning on a new page. A convenient pocket size and spiral binding allow the book to fit easily into your coat pocket and to stay open on the page you want. Safety alerts highlight important information for patient safety and effective performance of skills. Special Considerations address teaching, the home care setting, and care modifications for pediatric and geriatric patients. Documentation guidelines include a bulleted list of what should be reported and recorded in the patient records. Unexpected outcomes and related interventions help you to troubleshoot potential problems and take appropriate actions to address them. NEW! Additional nursing skills cover Obtaining a 12-lead Electrocardiogram (ECG) and Applying a Cardiac Monitor to address these vital elements of cardiac care. NEW! Up-to-date content is based on the most recent edition of Perry & Potter's Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, the bestselling nursing skills text.
Diseases and Disorders by
Diagnosis Related Groups (DRGs) for each disorder The primary nursing diagnosis for each disease and disorder Diagnostic tables that make test results easy to reference The newest information available on the genetic basis of the diseases and disorders Up-to-date explanations of the physiology of the disorders and how it related to risks and complications Collaborative and independent interventions Pharmacological tables that outline the dosages, mechanisms of action, and rationales of the drugs most commonly used for a disorder Separate headings for psychosocial issues Outlines for required documentation Home care and discharge guidelines and patient teaching checklists Evidence-based practice section Global health considerations that reflect the issues that transcend national borders
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
Ideal for courses in nursing programs covering drug and/or drug administration. Also serves practicing nurses Monographs provide user-friendly "Cure" and "Care" organization to allow users to find must-know information quickly and easily Designed to focus on patient safety by calling out 'High Alert' drugs and using red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects Includes 1-year free access to Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, a database of over 5,000 drugs and FDA news alerts Canadian-specific content, including Canadian trade names and drugs specifically approved for use in Canada A wealth of online resources including an audio pronunciation library, calculators, and video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
Gahart's 2022 Intravenous Medications by
Find the essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! For more than 45 years, Gahart's Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals has been a trusted resource for comprehensive drug coverage, unparalleled accuracy, and an intuitive quick-access format. In addition to updated drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all existing IV drugs, the 2022 edition includes approximately 10 new monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA. Administering intravenous drugs is a critical task - inaccurate or out-of-date information is not an option. Known as the #1 IV drug handbook on the market, and with its history of impeccable accuracy, Gahart's annual publication gives you the extra confidence and guidance you need to safely and effectively treat patients. Monographs on more than 400 IV drugs offer an impressive breadth of coverage that goes well beyond any comparable drug reference. Updated annual publication prevents you from referencing outdated information. Additional drug monographs are provided on the companion Evolve website. 45-year history of impeccable accuracy reinforces the importance of safe IV drug administration. Perfect depth of information equips you with everything that is needed for safe administration of IV drugs - nothing more, nothing less. Proven, clinically optimized format keeps all dosage information for each drug on either a single page or a two-page spread to prevent hand contamination by having to turn a page. Highlighted Black Box Warnings and relevant content make locating critical information fast and easy. Special circumstances in blue-screened text call attention to important circumstances that may not warrant Black Box Warnings. Life-stage dosage variances are highlighted for geriatric, pediatric, infant, and neonatal patients. Dilution and dosage charts within monographs provide quick access to essential clinical information. Convenient, alphabetical format organizes all drug monographs by generic name, allowing you to find any drug in seconds. NEW! Drug monographs for newly approved drugs by the FDA provide you with the most current drug information. Updates on drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and more have been made throughout the guide to reflect all changes to existing medications.
2020-2021 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook by
Written especially for nurses caring for patients with cancer, the 2020-2021 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook uniquely expresses drug therapy in terms of the nursing process: nursing diagnoses, etiologies of toxicities, and key points for nursing assessment, intervention, and evaluation. This essential reference provides valuable information on effective symptom management, patient education, and chemotherapy administration.Completely revised and updated, the 2020-2021 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook includes separate chapters on molecular and immunologic/biologic targeted therapies. These chapters provide fundamental reviews to assist nurses in understanding the cellular communication pathways disrupted by cancer. It also offers simplified content, attention to understanding the immune checkpoint inhibitors, new information about immunotherapy, new drugs and their indications, and updated indications and side effects for drugs recently approved by the FDA.
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk 2023 by
The worldwide gold standard for lactation support professionals. Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant? The new twentieth edition adds 72 new drugs, updates 356 medications with new data, and adds new information to 927 drugs. The resource relies upon the most current evidence-based studies to evaluate the relative risk of commonly used drugs including Dr. Hales highly renowned Lactation Risk Categories (LRC). Considered indispensable by hundreds of clinicians worldwide, the book lists safe alternatives for drugs one is currently taking or might need to take in the future. For ease of access to information, it includes key points and savvy tips in information boxes, common abbreviations, illustrative diagrams, concise information on evaluating the infant, and more. New to the 2023 Edition: 72 new drugs 356 medications updated with new data 3 drugs with FDA updates 927 medications updated with new information 74 existing drugs with updated LRC New tables on monoclonal antibodies and migraines New information on cannabis Key Features: Delivers current, evidence-based information on over 1300 drugs, diseases, vaccines, syndromes. Incorporates recent updates to Dr. Hales world-renowned LRC. Includes key points and savvy tips about breastfeeding and medications for quick reference. Lists common abbreviations and drugs in easily-accessible alphabetical order. Discusses adult concerns, adult dose, pediatric concerns, infant monitoring, and alternatives. Includes succinct information on evaluation of the infant.
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by
Fast Find: Lab and Dx--The complete F.A. Davis Lab & Diagnostic Test database online U.S. and Canadian content Searchable and printable Mobile and tablet friendly "Potential Nursing Problems" tables within many studies that present problems, signs and symptoms, and interventions related to the study 'Common Use' for each monograph to provide an at-a-glance description of what the test is for, presented in everyday language that patients will understand Monographs that focus on what you need to do before, during, and after each laboratory and diagnostic test, including... Patient Teaching Detailed coverage of patient safety "Sensitivity to Social and Cultural Issues" and "Nutritional Considerations," where appropriate Diagnostic imaging monographs with explanations of the reasons for the test result Pathophysiology information that explains why a lab test result is increased or decreased Reference Ranges that are expressed in both conventional and SI units (with the SI unit conversion factor) and include age- and gender-specific variations when indicated and normal variations due to cultural considerations Interfering Factors, including food, natural products, timing of test, handling of specimen, underlying patient conditions, and drugs that may interfere with the results of the test Unique coverage of laboratory and diagnostic tests for subspecialties, such as maternity, therapeutic drug monitoring, nutrition and sensory Cross referencing of related lab and diagnostic tests in every monograph "Body System" appendix that includes therapeutic drug monitoring and toxicology as well as nutrition-related lab tests
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by 
Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses 6 by
Assess the nature and severity of callers'' symptoms quickly and confidently, with Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses, 6th Edition. More than 200 alpha-organized protocols address a wide range of symptoms, disorders and medical emergencies, while the flow chart format leads callers to provide vital Yes or No answers to appropriate questions. This comprehensive manual - a must-have for nurses both new and experienced - offers accurate care recommendations even when client information is limited. Follow expert direction and make quick, accurate assessments ... NEW and updated protocols offer current best practices and reflect changes in access to medications and health care Protocols address adult, pediatric, geriatric, maternal/child, home health concerns, current health issues, and communicable disease outbreaks NEW protocols include arthritis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), elder abuse, stroke symptoms, and Zika virus Post-operative conditions and considerations have been added to numerous protocols Expanded appendices include altered mental status, PTSD, suicide prevention, and emergency preparedness Alpha-organized protocols help you quickly locate topics by symptom or condition Table of contents by body system helps you quickly locate topics by body system, body part or set of related symptoms Peer-reviewed by nursing experts Easy-to-follow question-asking flow chart - Yes or No answers lead to specific care recommendations Ideal guidance for all nurses, particularly those in triage and ambulatory practice Sorts life-threatening problems from those not requiring physician or emergency care Increases consistency of advice and documentation Nurse Alerts - help the nurse identify potentially life-threatening conditions related to the symptoms and provides additional information to consider when choosing a protocol or triaging the caller''s concern Symptoms alpha-organized and grouped by level of urgency, addressing injuries, trauma, pain, swelling and other symptoms for: Body part problems Body system problems Chronic and infectious diseases Behavioral problems Pediatric-specific problems Maternal/obstetric specific problems or conditions Sections under every symptom or condition include: Key Questions to ask caller Other Protocols to Consider Reminder - what to note for proper documentation Assessment - Yes or No questions to determine the urgency of symptoms or conditions Actions - clear direction following Yes or No answers to questions Immediate actions - proven protocols that refer caller to emergency, physician, or at-home care instructions Home Care Instructions - comprehensive actions to take before emergency care, before appointment, or at-home care Emergency Instructions - in-the-moment first aid Report the Following Problems - what caller should tell their personal or ER physician Seek Emergency Care Immediately - if certain symptoms occur Reminder to determine if caller agrees with the advice provided and if not, reevaluate Must-have resource for medical offices, clinics, schools, community referrals, emergency departments, urgent care centers, home health agencies and managed healthcare providers About the Author Julie Briggs, RN, BSN, MHA, has an extensive background in Emergency Nursing, Management, Telephone Triage, Emergency Preparedness, Utilization Review and Quality Management. She is currently providing consulting and training services. She has been employed by Providence Health and Services in Portland, Oregon for the past 15 years in the capacity of Medical Management RN Care Coordinator and as the Manager of the Emergency Department at Providence St. Vincent Medical Center. Additionally, she served in the role of Director for multiple units including the Emergency Department, Critical Care, Cardiac Cath Lab, Ambulatory Care, and Radiology for 13 years at Good Samaritan Medical Center in Puyallup, Washington. She has authored numerous books in Telephone Triage, Emergency Nursing Triage, and Homemaker/Home Health Aide Training.
