As of March 2018, the following Lippincott eBooks are considered to be excellent references for nursing policies and procedures.
Licensed for ALL of Ascension Wisconsin via R2 :
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by Lippincott StaffThis start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Call Number: ONLINE via R2
Publication Date: 2019
Lippincott Visual Nursing by Kantor; Lippincott Williams and Wilkins StaffFor an image-rich guide to the clinical concepts and on-the-unit skills needed to treat the major common diseases, look no further than the fully updated Lippincott Visual Nursing , 3rd Edition . Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care. Follow these real-world visuals and top-notch directions for treating common diseases. . . NEW enhanced eBook included with purchase NEW flow charts showing clinical manifestations and leading to diagnosis, showing improvement or decline NEW format --tests, procedures, and treatments for each system now appearing before discussion of diseases NEW diagnoses added for diseases throughout the text Dozens of colorful illustrations, photos, waveforms, and diagrams that clearly demonstrate concepts and descriptions Step-by-step guidance on basic assessment skills, including: gathering subjective and objective data, questions to ask, documentation, and more Step-by-step assessment and treatment instructions that enhance your nursing skills and confidence Chapters addressing individual body systems: respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, renal and urologic, hematologic and immunologic, endocrine, integumentary, and male and female reproductive care Each body system chapter addresses: Major diseases affecting that system Normal anatomy--descriptions and images Pathophysiology of common health problems Lab tests and imaging studies Disease development Signs, symptoms, stages, and prevention Treatments--drug therapies, procedures, and surgery Nursing considerations--assessing patient decision-making ability, monitoring for complications, checking vital signs, post-operative care, and more Comparative charts that list diseases, their causes, persons at risk, symptoms, assessment findings, diagnoses, treatments, interventions Ideal study and review text for visual learners --colorful images that support other nursing texts, making it easy to learn and retain information Summarizes the major diseases and nursing considerations and interventions clearly and concisely Chapter features that include: Picturing Patho --flowcharts that show the effects of complex diseases Hands On --photographs that illustrate nursing procedures and treatments Lesson Plans --summaries of vital information for patient and family education Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Debra P. Kantor, PhD, RN, is an Associate Professor of Nursing at The Barbara H. Hagan School of Nursing, Molloy College, Rockville Centre, New York.
Diseases and Disorders by Susan Johnson-Taylor; Ehriel FanninDiagnosis Related Groups (DRGs) for each disorder The primary nursing diagnosis for each disease and disorder Diagnostic tables that make test results easy to reference The newest information available on the genetic basis of the diseases and disorders Up-to-date explanations of the physiology of the disorders and how it related to risks and complications Collaborative and independent interventions Pharmacological tables that outline the dosages, mechanisms of action, and rationales of the drugs most commonly used for a disorder Separate headings for psychosocial issues Outlines for required documentation Home care and discharge guidelines and patient teaching checklists Evidence-based practice section Global health considerations that reflect the issues that transcend national borders
Medications & Mothers' Milk (aka Hale's) by Thomas W. HalePraise for Earlier Editions: "[This] is our gold standard." --Sandra J. Cole, RNC, IBCLC Sharp Mary Birch Hospital, San Diego, CA "I am both a clinical instructor in maternal/child and IBCLC. I haven't used Briggs since Hale came along." --Barbara Hotelling, MSN WHNP LCCE CD(DONA) CHT IBCLC Duke University Medical Center Written by a world-renowned expert in perinatal pharmacology, this essential reference contains current, complete, and evidence-based information on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. Because so many women ingest medications while breastfeeding, one of the most common questions encountered in pediatrics is: Which drugs are safe and which are hazardous for the infant? This 2019 edition has been extensively revised, and now includes 39 completely new and 331 updated medications, and state-of-the-art coverage of multiple diseases, vaccines, and syndromes. It addresses the use of radiopharmaceuticals, chemotherapeutic agents, and vaccines in breastfeeding mothers, and covers adult concerns, methods of reducing risk to infants, and infant monitoring. New to the 2019 Edition: An updated design for easier access to information Drug names in running heads for easier reference The latest information on the impact of prescription medications, over-the-counter drugs, herbs, and street drugs Updates to existing drug monographs Key Features: Evidence-based, current information on over 1300 drugs, diseases, vaccines and syndromes Dr. Hale's renowned "Lactation Risk Categories" Adult concerns, adult dose, pediatric concerns, infant monitoring, and alternatives Key points and savvy tips about breastfeeding and medications for quick reference Succinct information about evaluation of the infant Common abbreviations and drugs listed in alphabetical order
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by Anne M. Van Leeuwen; Mickey L. BladhFast Find: Lab and Dx--The complete F.A. Davis Lab & Diagnostic Test database online U.S. and Canadian content Searchable and printable Mobile and tablet friendly "Potential Nursing Problems" tables within many studies that present problems, signs and symptoms, and interventions related to the study 'Common Use' for each monograph to provide an at-a-glance description of what the test is for, presented in everyday language that patients will understand Monographs that focus on what you need to do before, during, and after each laboratory and diagnostic test, including... Patient Teaching Detailed coverage of patient safety "Sensitivity to Social and Cultural Issues" and "Nutritional Considerations," where appropriate Diagnostic imaging monographs with explanations of the reasons for the test result Pathophysiology information that explains why a lab test result is increased or decreased Reference Ranges that are expressed in both conventional and SI units (with the SI unit conversion factor) and include age- and gender-specific variations when indicated and normal variations due to cultural considerations Interfering Factors, including food, natural products, timing of test, handling of specimen, underlying patient conditions, and drugs that may interfere with the results of the test Unique coverage of laboratory and diagnostic tests for subspecialties, such as maternity, therapeutic drug monitoring, nutrition and sensory Cross referencing of related lab and diagnostic tests in every monograph "Body System" appendix that includes therapeutic drug monitoring and toxicology as well as nutrition-related lab tests